Athens is the capital of Greece. It belongs to the Prefecture of Attica, located at the centre of the Greek territory. Attica is actually a peninsula surrounded by four high mountains that form a basin. In this basin, the city and suburbs of Athens have been constructed. The southernmost point of Attica is Cape Sounion, on top of which an ancient temple dedicated to god Poseidon is found. According to the myth, king Aegeus fell from Cape Sounion and got drowned, when he thought that his only son Theseus was killed by the Minotaur in Crete. On the western side, the Attica peninsula is divided by Peloponnese with the Corinth Canal, an artificial work that was completed in 1893.

Greece regions The Greece mainland consists of the following regions: Sterea (Central Greece), Peloponnese, Thessaly (east central), Epirus (North West), Macedonia (north) and Thrace (North West). Also Greece consists of many islands and island complexes: Crete, Cyclades, Dodecanese, Ionian, Sporades, Saronic and Eastern Aegean islands. Peloponnese is the most popular region of mainland Greece. It is located in the southern part of Greece and actually looks like an island connected to the mainland with two bridges: the bridge at the Corinth Canal and the cable bridge of Rio-Antirrio. The inland is dissected by high mountains that extend southwards towards a landscape of fertile plains, pine forested uplands and craggy foothills.

There are more than 2,000 large and smaller Greek islands scattered both in the Aegean and the Ionian Sea. Most of them are located in the Aegean between the mainland and Turkey. The largest Greek island is Crete and the second largest is Evia. Lesvos and Rhodes come next. Some of the most famous islands are Santorini, Mykonos, Rhodes, Crete, Zakynthos and Corfu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *